Everybody’s Searching For a Hero

I thought I’d share some thoughts of a 31-year-old, perpetual single woman. For my single life I think it’s best for me to share these thoughts with the world wide web. Enjoy.

Things said to strangers at bars:

“I play my video games like I give my hand jobs. Smashed, dry and with the rings on.”-muttered while playing some fighting game at an arcade bar.

Things thought while making out with a boy in an alley while he tries to get a little frisky up the skirt:

-Nope. Not gonna happen. He’s going to touch my Spanx. My Spanx prudeness totally makes me a lady… in an alley.

Things said to my cats:

“Tennille, you’re that lady with an attitude. Captain, you’re that fellow in the mood.”

“God, you’re such a dick, but you’re handsome. Let’s cuddle.”

“Don’t dip your tail in my barbeque sauce.”

“Stop smelling my wound.”

Things thought while at the grocery store:

-Just how single lady can my purchases be? Wine? Check. Cat food? Check. Can of Franco-American Spaghetti? Double check.

Things thought while walking down the street:

-I’m totally like Jennie Garth while pregnant on BH, 90210 carrying all of these bags in front of my stomach to hide the pregnancy. The difference: you’re not fucking pregnant, Yops. Cripes.

With all of these wonderful thoughts and expressions being passed along, it’s really no wonder why things are the way they are with my non-existent dating life. However, writing this in an open forum won’t stop me from continuing to say things like this.

Maybe I should start a Twitter account with this crap in hopes that I’ll eventually get a show with CBS called S#it a Perpetual Single Woman Says. If that happened the writers would probably create a love triangle with the boy who has always liked me, but didn’t have the guts to tell me and the handsome coworker that’s most likely a playa. I would go on dates with the no-good coworker and the friend would gently try to steer me away from him while having a side plot of selling candy bars on the streets with the hoodlum kids with a heart.

There would be a time where the friend and I would go out for coffee and in some crazy scheme see the coworker making out with another girl outside a fro-yo place. My heart would be crushed, but the friend would be there to pick up the pieces. Then the friend would turn my frown upside down by performing a choreographed dance routine to the “Greatest Love Of All” and then Betty White would show up. It would be magical.

With that I give you my return to writing on my blog. Writing regularly is hard. Harumph. God, you’d think I was busy working or sumthin’.

About lyops

LeeAnn Yops (long O in that Yo) is a writer and stand-up comedian. She is a Second City graduate who has worked on shows at ComedySportz Theatre (ahem, made sexy wrestling pants) as well as contributed to relationship blogs and Craigslist Missed Connections on the world wide web. She likes cats, things that are smooth (mostly rock), the color green, competitive games that give her tickets for her hard work, Beverly Hills, 90210 (or pretty much anything that Aaron Spelling created) and Chi-Chi's salsa. Follow her baby, Beverly Hills, 9021-Whoa! at: http://beverlyhills9021wh.wix.com/beverlyhills9021whoa. It's the size of vodka-filled Beverly Hills, 9021-Whoa!termelon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Everybody’s Searching For a Hero

  1. I still love the handjob comment. Brings tears to my eyes! xoxo

Leave a comment